Bradley University Police Department Annual Awards

May 19, 2022

This week is National Police Week. Established by a joint resolution of Congress in 1962, National Police Week pays special recognition to those law enforcement officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty for the safety and protection of others.

During this special week, we want to recognize the Bradley University Police Department and those who protect and serve our campus.

Each year the BUPD hosts an awards ceremony to recognize the officers, staff, student employees, and citizens who keep the Bradley community safe. While the event did not take place in person this year, we ask you to join us in congratulating all of the award recipients.

Officer of the Year - Nicholas B. McCumber

Sgt. McCumber accepted many additional roles, often with little to no notice. He stepped forward to ensure that the department continued to operate as efficiently and effectively as possible. In addition to his sergeant responsibilities, he coordinated crime prevention officer activities, including all social media postings, assisted with training and new recruit onboarding, quartermaster responsibilities, and, most notably, was temporarily reassigned to a different shift for several months. Despite those challenges, he performed at the highest level while maintaining a positive, can-do attitude.

Officer / Employee Awards

  • Sergeant Brandon Wright and Police Operator DeAnna Lorentz, Meritorious Service Award. Sgt. Wright and Operator Lorentz responded to two consecutive armed robbery incidents. As a result of their actions, the suspect responsible for both incidents was quickly apprehended.
  • Sergeant Nicholas B. McCumber, Life-saving Award. Sgt. McCumber responded to Campustown for a report of a person down. Sgt. McCumber administered Narcan while others performed CPR. The patient regained consciousness and was transported to a hospital.
  • Sergeant Brandon Wright, Meritorious Service Award. Sgt. Wright discovered a vehicle burglary in progress. As a result of his actions, two suspects were quickly apprehended.
  • Public Safety Officer Daniel Svymbersky, Meritorious Service Award. In appreciation of PSO Svymbersky's actions throughout the 2021-22 academic year, going above and beyond the call of duty to be available for assignments and shifts.

Citizen Commendation

  • Aramark employee Victoria Anderson. On April 20, 2022, Victoria performed abdominal thrusts on a choking coworker allowing the obstruction to clear.
  • Citizen Shanah Perry. On November 17, 2021, Shanah passed through Campustown when she observed a person without a pulse not breathing. Shanah began CPR until relieved. The patient was given Narcan by responding officers and regained consciousness.

Additional Recognitions

  • Chief Brian Joschko, Longevity Recognition. Chief Joschko has been with Bradley for 10 years.
  • Officer Justin Kitts, New Position Appointment Recognition. Officer Kitts has been appointed to the position of investigator.

Special thanks to the Student Safety Advisory Committee volunteers for their time and efforts

  • Yanisha S. Nance
  • Santinique R. Hogan
  • Emma M. Smith
  • Anthony J. Fidanzo
  • Caston T. Cheatom
  • Dorianne T. Hemmons
  • Javier Garcia
  • Michael A. Anderson
  • Matthew N. Kruger
  • Natalija M. McCumber
  • Sebastian A. Biggs
  • Alyssa Perez
  • Heather Martin
  • Maria E. Sterr
  • Madelyn Albright
  • Jeannie F. Hansen

Sgt. McCumber

Chief Joschko

Officer Kitts